Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/16/2023 12:39:53 PM EDT
Have a question.....and a rant.  Long story short I was a cop for about 17 years, got rear ended by a tow truck while parked on the freeway in 2018.  Had a pretty severe TBI, neck fractures, and a partially dissected carotid artery.  Eventually took a medical retirement at age 42 after work comp doc said I couldn't return.  Anyway, at that time (2020) MN said those on a duty disability could return to work in a non public safety position, and if the combination of your pension and new employment exceeded 125% of what a current employee in your former position makes they take 1 dollar for every 3 dollars over that amount.  The 125% figure was decided on back in the 90's to account for loss of overtime, lost promotional opportunities, and since a disability pension will not rise over the years.  I think that was more than fair, and I have since started working for the state in a desk job.  As of now I'm a little over the 125% mark and pay a roughly $3500 penalty back to the retirement fund.  I, along with all the other duty disabled folks, retired under those rules and built a new life around those standards.  

Fast forward to this year to our democratic controlled governor and legislature.  They just passed a new law (HF1234) which fundamentally changes the income and offset standards.  I won't get into the details as it is quite complicated, but starting next year instead of paying a $3500/year penalty I will pay $35.000/year!!!  And that will by for the next 10 years until I turn 55.  Essentially I'll pay around $300K in the next 10 years and not see any benefit.  That amount is roughly the same as two cops pay into the fund for their entire careers.