Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/14/2001 10:52:16 PM EDT
No handgun round will cause a decompression failure, and certainly will not cause a massive failure of the airplane's outer shell.  At ANY altitude the pressure inside an airplane is only 1atm, and a small hole would quickly get plugged up as escaping air swept up loose material.

Sorry, just an engineering student venting.

radioman
Link Posted: 9/14/2001 11:01:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:

radioman
View Quote

I'm not an engineer (or even a student for that matter), but what about a bullet hitting one of the many windows?

I'm all for armed Air Marshals, don't get me wrong.
Link Posted: 9/14/2001 11:33:26 PM EDT
[#2]
As a practicing engineer, I suggest you try an experiment.  Take a can of Coke or other soda adn shake it up throoughly.  Leave it in the sun for a while.  Then shoot it with a .22.  The resultant explosion of the can should be spectacular.

You need to account for the mass transfer involved.  The pressure differential may seem small, but the mass fo air available to flow out the small hole is large and will force the hole to become larger.  The deHavilland Comet had a problem with catastrophic stress cracks propagating along window frames due to that very small pressure differential..
Link Posted: 9/15/2001 4:50:50 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
As a practicing engineer, I suggest you try an experiment.  Take a can of Coke or other soda adn shake it up throoughly.  Leave it in the sun for a while.  Then shoot it with a .22.  The resultant explosion of the can should be spectacular.

You need to account for the mass transfer involved.  The pressure differential may seem small, but the mass fo air available to flow out the small hole is large and will force the hole to become larger.  The deHavilland Comet had a problem with catastrophic stress cracks propagating along window frames due to that very small pressure differential..