Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 4
Posted: 4/10/2006 6:46:24 AM EDT
Women always have to argue with you. Case in point, the woman on my team at work, we'll call her Sophie.

I work in IT, and on the types of systems that I manage there are varying levels of errors. When the system encounters a hardware problem (such as a failed hardware device) or a software glitch it will log an error message. These error messages stay in an error log on the system until they are resolved, at which time they are automagically cleared. OK, now on with the story...

On Friday my boss sent out an e-mail that he titled "mandatory rule". Now, given the title you are automatically going to assume that this is serious and he is going to mean what he says in the e-mail, right? Well, in the e-mail the boss tells us that from now on he doesn't want any upgrades performed on any systems that are showing any errors (no exceptions), and also that he wants to have us check for and report back to him any errors on any systems. Well, I have a system that is due for a firmware upgrade that is showing a couple of minor errors, but errors none the same. So, I reply to my boss' e-mail and copy the people that I am required to copy, one of them being Sophie. Well, when Sophie reads my description of the problem she sends me an e-mail (on her own authority) telling me that the errors I described don't need to worry about them and that I can upgrade the system in question.