Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/7/2006 10:21:07 AM EDT
I am in sort of a bind financially speaking.  I have a LOT of student loan debt from both my undergraduate and graduate degrees, and I am making a lot less (like $15,000 less) out of the gate than I anticipated.

I'm not good at handling my money, obviously.  Basically, I'm in deep shyte and treading water, to mix metaphors.  Do financial planners help with this kind of thing, as far as putting a plan together to stabilize and mitigate the situation?  I am not in trouble yet, but I'm hurtling toward it at a frightening rate.

Thanks.
Link Posted: 4/7/2006 10:24:59 AM EDT
[#1]
lISTEN TO THE Dave Ramsey show on xm165 middays during the week. I don't know if he has a presence on the web. Probably does...
Link Posted: 4/7/2006 10:28:23 AM EDT
[#2]
Modog:

You've been caught in the trap my friend... You are "making less than I expected".. to put that into perspective, or to turn it around,  at some point last year you spent the money you made today and tomorrow. Thats the debt trap.

Yup.  Go to the book store, and get Dave Ramseys debt books..

Many financial planners are more of the "I have a million where do I invest it" type.

You need a debt counselor.  Be careful.  A counselor offers advice.  If they offer a miuraclue cure loan, RUN.  ITS A SCAM.  A counselor will give you the cold hard truth, not make a loan..
Link Posted: 4/7/2006 10:31:30 AM EDT
[#3]
[homer] Financial panther, eh? [/homer]
Link Posted: 4/7/2006 10:31:32 AM EDT
[#4]
Yeah.  I don't need someone to tell me I'm screwed...I need actual advice and planning on how to get out of this shitty situation.
Link Posted: 4/7/2006 10:39:05 AM EDT
[#5]
First, congrats to you for seeking help.   Most people don't think about getting help until it's too late.