Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/12/2006 5:56:02 AM EDT
Boy, I bought a Yaesu 7800 a few weeks ago and installed it in my mobile. A buddy of mine who is an RF engineer for FPL drilled an NMO mount hole, ran feedline etc, did an excellent job, but that has nothing to do with my issue.

I bought a MaxRad 2m/440 NMO antenna to go along with the radio, but after my signal reports, it seems like I bought a coil equipped dummy load.

Any recommendations for a new antenna?

I'm looking at those diamond fold overs currently, they seem to have a decent amount of gain.
Link Posted: 3/12/2006 6:06:48 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm a newbie no-code tech myself, so take my words with a pound of salt.  I'd start by taking a good long look at the mount, making sure that it's secure and well grounded.  Maybe the next step would be to get a cheap 2m Hamstick antenna and see if the condition improves.  If not, then you're only out  $10-15 for the antenna, and you know that you get to have fun chasing cable or grounding issues.

Try posting this in the survival forum, where more of the hams seem to congregate.

Edit: 87 billion good antenna reviews
Link Posted: 3/12/2006 6:41:58 AM EDT
[#2]
Pull the coax from the rig, use an ohm meter to check for a short between the outer shield, and the center conductor. try it without the antenna installed on the NMO mount.

the meter should read an open.

Next check to see if the surface that the NMO is mounted to is actually ground.

I had a ford ranger that needed every damn piece of sheet metal bonded to ground, they must glue them together after they coat them, because nothing seemed to be tied to ground.

Ideally, the outer shield, and the ground of the vehicle should be a solid short on your ohm meter. in other word, the outer shield should be ground.

I like to ground the chassis of the radio,  and run 12v fused wiring directly to the car battery.

What kind of car is it?