Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/12/2005 6:04:02 PM EDT
Let me preface this thread by saying I work in a hospital so I have a general knowledge of these types of things. Not an expert by any means, but versed in it. The informed will realize that the current "Bird Flu" in SE Asia, while having a 65% mortality rate, has yet to make the crucial human to human jump which would then bode POORLY for the rest of us. So we're safe so far. And the 65% mortality rate must be put into perspective: these are happening in third world countries like Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia, etc. Not exactly beacons of the advanced medical world.

Okay, now on with the question being posed. We know that the Pentagon is studying (at W's behest) ways of quarantining large areas or large groups of people if a pandemic should break out. Obviously not a pretty picture. People won't like the idea of being told "Sorry, but you have to stay here and die" as opposed to trying to get away to a "clean" area. And being told so at gunpoint no less.

Do you think guns would be the first to go? I can't see something on a scale so large as a military enforced quarantine within our borders going over well period, let alone with an estimated 60 million gun owners being told they have to just stay in place and most likely die like good little citizens. You know, "take one for the team". No, I see something REALLY BAD happening IF this ever goes down. It ain't just gun-guys we're talking about. It's about EVERYONE around you and their parental instincts as well as their own self-preservation at stake.        
Link Posted: 10/12/2005 6:07:05 PM EDT
[#1]
"its the end of the world as we know it, and I feel fine"
Link Posted: 10/12/2005 6:12:08 PM EDT
[#2]
I bet all your guns not one single LEO refuses an order to take them.
Link Posted: 10/12/2005 6:16:46 PM EDT
[#3]
It would probably depend on where the quarantine took place.