Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/29/2005 10:49:23 PM EDT
In Arizona, we are required to surrender our firearm(s) to law enforcement when asked. We can have our permit yanked if we refuse. (Not to mention probably being drawn down on by the po-po)..

Anyway, in the 3 or 4 times I have been pulled over, every single time the cop took my weapon. 2 or 3 times they even unloaded it.  I'm a CCW Instructor here and the Sgt. running the CCW Unit at DPS said that the officers are NEVER to unload the firearm. Seems one officer tried unloading a 1911 and blew his DXT to shreds.. ooops

I understand why cops would ask for my weapon. They don't know me and I have just told them I have a firearm. If TSHTF and things escalate, they want ME unarmed.. I don't necessarily agree with it, but I understand it..

So, my question is; how many of you confiscate the firearm during the stop? Do you unload the firearm?

Link Posted: 8/29/2005 11:16:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 8/29/2005 11:20:54 PM EDT
[#2]
Yes and yes. I usually remove the mag/ammo and place in a seperate part of the vehicle. The placing of the weapon is usually done by a 2nd officer while I have the driver of the vehicle.
Link Posted: 8/29/2005 11:21:13 PM EDT
[#3]
I got pulled over in the city early one morning by a motorcycle cop.  I advised him of my firearm that was in a bag on the passenger seat, he simply asked me to exit the vehicle while the stop was conducted and that was it.

My wife and I took a trip up near Show Low and DPS pulled her over.  She advised him that she and I both carried and he just said "ok" and continued the stop.

A funny: