Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/9/2005 12:38:58 PM EDT
I have a black '98 Saturn SC1 (2 door) that I want to get repainted the same color.  I saw the adds and since I am a poor college student with a disproportional firearms to income habit, the cheap price is tempting me to drop the hammer.  I plan on driving the car till the wheels fall off, so resale value is not an issue.  What can I expect from a 300 dollar paint job?  Is there anything I should look out for?  Key questions to ask?  
Link Posted: 8/9/2005 12:40:38 PM EDT
[#1]
I had one of company vans repainted by them ($699) Looked good, I didn't have it jammed out though.
Link Posted: 8/9/2005 12:49:52 PM EDT
[#2]
For something like your car, and financial position(I am in college too, I'm feelin your pain), Maaco should be fine.  It is luck of the draw with Maaco, it depends on if it is painted by a guy who is experienced(just about to quit) or new(learning how to paint).  

If you want the car to be good enough to drive around and not look ghetto, macco should be fine.  If you want a shiny straight no-runs finish wait a few months, save a few more $, and get somebody else.

Also, if your car is a dark color, or red, it is harder to paint, if it is lighter or white, it is relatively easy and hard to screw up.  

As far as questions to ask...  Its a $300 paint job,.  You could probably do some of the surface prep yourself the day before.  All the chips, scratches, and flaked off spots need feathered out.  The surface needs feathered out until smooth.  You can board and hand sand these spots roughly and then wet sand to a smooth finish.  If you do this I or a real bodyman here can tell you what to look for.  
Link Posted: 8/9/2005 12:54:39 PM EDT
[#3]
Save your $$, put it in the bank to draw interest & then buy a car when you get a real job. MAACO is a slight, very slight cut above a spray paint can in your garage.