Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/12/2003 1:01:38 PM EDT

Almost every image from Iraq and Afghanistan that you see of our heroic men is of them in desert cammies with jungle IBA:

http://www.armytimes.com/content/editorial/editart/120903front6.jpg

http://www.armytimes.com/content/editorial/editart/120403front8.jpg

http://www.armytimes.com/content/editorial/editart/120203front4.jpg

Okay, I was in the Navy during Desert Storm so I have NO combat experience. I want to hear from those guys who truly understand the importance and effects of proper camouflage.

The United States can't afford desert cammo for our body armor?!?!?!

How much was the goddamned prescription drug bill?!?! And our guys have armor vests that highlight their center-of-mass to any enemy?!

Should I be this pissed off about this, or am I over-reacting?

Just Damn
Link Posted: 12/12/2003 1:08:56 PM EDT
[#1]
At least they have body armour. In 90-91 most of us had woodland camo and my unit had hell to pay to try and get body armour.

And actually in that top picture hiding on sand in front of a woodland coloured vehicle his combination might actually be very effective.

In the end though I'm with you, I'd rather see the right pattern for the right environment.

Cpt. Redleg
Link Posted: 12/12/2003 1:18:23 PM EDT
[#2]

I know some might make the argument that, "well, the enemy will aim for the vest and that will be safer for our guys" but we know that's bullcrap. It's all about money. All we have to do is spend the money for the correct cammo and for the ceramic plates for all Interceptor Armor. I wish we had war bonds again so my money could go directly to the war effort.

We need to make a list of all the stuff that is FUBAR only because of money. Incorrect cammo for uniforms/MOPP gear/vehicles is the first one that comes to mind. Not enough live-fire training (ammo is expensive, you know) is right next to it.