Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/22/2003 2:29:21 PM EDT
I have been shooting for 36 years now. Not always steady, & not always a lot. I had no mentor, & most of my friends while gun lovers, weren't into compatition, or getting training other than just shooting for fun.
I had basic marksmanship training in the Corps, 18 years ago. I already was a good shot when I got there, having varmint hunted, & other types of shoting, & hunting sports to some extent.
I have never competed, or had any other type of training, & I really don't have a clue as to where to begin. I though of going to Thunder Ranch, or Gunsite, but I don't really have that kind of money right now. I don't really know if IPSC is something I would like, as I don't really know that much about it.
I like the idea of learning to use my guns for home defense, personal defense, & hunting, & just having fun, but I don't know what direction to look for training that would be benaficial to me in these areas. I feel like a beginer, & would like to get some training so I will be better prepaired if the need should ever arise.
Pleas make some recomendations to me as to the who,what,were, & why's of it, so I can start to find my way into what would behelpfull for me to know as far as what training I should get. Oh, & money is an obstacle right now, but I can start to save for it, if I know what I'm saving for.
I have 4 .45's, 1 M-4, & 1 AR-15 a2 for combat style type training. No shotgun at present, but I could remedy that.
         Thanks for your help in this matter, Searcher out
Link Posted: 11/22/2003 2:37:01 PM EDT
[#1]
find a local ipsc club and go check it out. it is a lot of fun.

As for training ask around your local shops and ranges. Be careful of "INSTRUCTORS" and pick one with some references. There are a lot of guys teaching classes that don't have a clue.