Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/5/2003 12:13:57 PM EDT
I'm finishing my A+ classes next week. I'm pretty comfy with my skills so far. I have my little LAN at the house with 2 pc’s, but no server SW yet- ME and Win 98. I set up a LAN for a friend with 2 pc's, a router and their cable modem.
I was offered a contract position for a Windows 2000 migration project.
They just ask for a basic ability in networking/hardware and IP configuration.
Honestly, I'm just a little nervous because it's my first time.  :rolleyes:
Anything I should pay special attention to? or any tips for a nervous newbie?? Practice??
Install is from network or from CD, I've done it in class once or twice.
Any words of wisdom??
Link Posted: 6/5/2003 12:41:49 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 6/5/2003 12:42:19 PM EDT
[#2]
What exactly are they asking you to do?

If you are just going to be installing Win2000 on workstations, thats no big deal. Using a RIS server or unattended install, the system will do all of the work for you.

If they are asking you to design the network and AD, you better make sure you got all your ducks is a row. I have done quite a few of these over the years and know, designing a reliable and efficent configuartion can be a challenge.
Link Posted: 6/5/2003 1:50:01 PM EDT
[#3]
The only thing I don't care for in the current course and test is a lot of it revolves around older eqipment. The questions on the Transcender are sometimes about 80486's and Win95 installs. It should change in a few months- I almost wish I'd waited to take the classes. The test is kinda like Jeopardy- it depends on which questions you get. I don't know my I/O's and memory address- how often do you need that off the top of your head?? But I'm pretty comfortable with the rest. It's just hard to remember/memorize [b]everything[/b]. It's that perftionist/compulsiveness thing I guess.