Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 7
Posted: 2/2/2013 7:14:50 PM EDT
I graduated with a Bachelor's in Accounting last August, but haven't had any luck finding a job. So, I took a seasonal tax preparer / office manager position with a national tax prep service. This past week, while doing a client's taxes, I discovered a HUGE mistake where the taxpayer has wrongfully received about $40,000+ in refunds over the last seven years, through no real fault of his own, but because of inept tax preparers. He's been a client of ours for 7 years.

As part of the interview process, we have the clients fill out a data sheet, which includes their personal information and information about dependents. The dependent info includes the relationship of the dependent to the taxpayer. The client is in his late 20's, and is claiming his two cousins as dependents. The kids are about 8 and 9. Their parents are both incarcerated. In the past, the client had also claimed his mom, the children's aunt, due to her being unemployed. This year, however, he's not claiming her, as she moved out on her own. His mom has legal custody of her niece and nephew, but they live with her son, the client. The client was upfront about them being his cousins.

For those of you who aren't well-versed in tax law, there are some refundable credits (Child Tax Credit / Additional Child Tax Credit / Earned Income Tax Credit) for which nieces and nephews are qualifying relatives, but cousins are not. Cousins can be claimed as dependents for exemptions, though.