Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/9/2002 6:09:55 PM EDT
I've been fighting a leaky roof for a couple of years now and I'm tired of patching it.  Time to get it redone.

I've phoned several of the local roofing companies that do residential work and I've only received one quote so far.  My home is approximately 50 squares (my understanding is one square is 100 square feet).

The quote I received was 12,000.00 to tear off and reshingle.  That's 240/square and seems high to me.

My father had his roof done about 4 years ago and it was about 6000 for a little less roof area.  I was thinking things should be in the 175/square area which would put me in the $9,000 ball park.

Anyone know what roofing contractors are getting in the south for a single layer tear off, disposal and reshingle with a decent architectural shingle?

Thanks,

Ryan
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 6:19:30 PM EDT
[#1]
I could never pay someone to do my roof...

Do it yourself...its simple work.
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 6:23:10 PM EDT
[#2]
Stormbringer,

Been there done that ... I do almost all of my own Home Improvement type work including tile, painting, masonry, trim and detail woodwork.  I don't have time to do my roof or I would, I know the work is easy, we roofed a buddies stable a year or so ago ... easier when there's no tear off.

Ryan
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 6:23:30 PM EDT
[#3]
The 12k is NUTS!  Tab shingles cost about 30 bucks a square.  Fancy is a bit more.  $150 a square is a plenty IMHO.  Keep checking as there are a lot of shady people in roofing!!
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 6:25:53 PM EDT
[#4]
I got a quote for my house; about 35 square, and it was $3,400. That's remove and haul off the old shingles, replace tar paper, and install new shingles. I thought that was high but my second estimate was $4,500. $5,500 for metal.
Link Posted: 7/9/2002 6:33:28 PM EDT
[#5]