Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/13/2011 7:42:03 PM EDT
I am looking for a decent CAD program to play with for personal use, for plans in the future (maybe). I don't have $400 + to throw at a program, and I'm not looking for something professional/advanced. I have had some use of Auto CAD back in high school for a semester, and I have played around with a trial version of Alibre Design CAD (which I thought was kinda easy). Basically I'm looking for a program where I can make a 3D model and be able to make threads on surfaces. With practice and patience, I would like to design an AR15 lower and upper receiver.

I am a full time student also, so maybe I could get student pricing as well.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 7:45:24 PM EDT
[#1]
They give us AutoCAD at work, what a clunky program... I miss ProE
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 7:52:05 PM EDT
[#2]
If you are a student with a college email address (i.e. a .edu email address) then you can get a free 3 year student license to Autodesk Inventor as well as AutoCAD and any other Autodesk product.

just go to students.autodesk.com and register.

I think you can get SolidWorks for $100-$200 dollars for the student edition. Solidworks is very user friendly and is my preferred CAD program.

There is an "illegitimate" way of getting cad software as well via torrents. That is all I'll say.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 7:53:55 PM EDT
[#3]
I hear Revit is the way of the future at least for building.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 7:54:03 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

I do not enjoy using Autocad either, especially to make 3d objects.  Why the hell would someone use Autocad to make 3d parts when there are so many better programs to do it with.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 7:54:08 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:

ProE has got to be one of the worst 3D modeling programs IMO. I would pick Solidworks first, and then Inventor.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 7:54:33 PM EDT
[#6]
Try this one.