Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/25/2002 6:43:08 PM EDT
Hi

ok... im a newbie, so if this is a stupid question, sorry.  WOuld it be leagal to put a pistol grip and stocl on a mak 90?  Its obviously a postban, but i read that in orer to be considered a preban, it had to take detachable mags and have 2 of the "deadly features".  This 1 only takes detachable mags but it doesnt have any of those fetures, so i was wondering if i could add just 1 feature, a pistol grip.  
And 1 more question, how about no stock at all and just a pistol grip?  It just passes 26 inches in length without a stock, so it wouldnt be considered a short rifle... so can this stuff be done?  

Thanks for the info
Monkey
Link Posted: 4/25/2002 6:48:31 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 4/25/2002 6:52:55 PM EDT
[#2]
I don't think you can put just a pistol stock on it.  I am pretty sure you can replace the thumbhole stock with a regular style as long as you also replace a number of other pieces.  By this I mean that since it is an import(China) the firearm must have a certain total number of US made parts to allow it to be legal with a regular stock.

Look for a guy named CampyBob on this board...he knows everything about AK's

Sgtar15
Link Posted: 4/25/2002 7:00:13 PM EDT
[#3]
You can't just put a pistol grip on it [b]NOW![/b]

If it had been converted between the time of the import ban in 1989 and the AW ban in Sept., 1994, [b]then[/b] it would be perfectly legal in a pistol grip configuration.

Now, you will have to go the five US made parts routine.

Which ain't bad, BTW.

Eric The(AK-kinda)Hun[>]:)]
Link Posted: 4/26/2002 10:34:06 PM EDT
[#4]
ive got a MAK-90 kit for sale. i bought 3 from Tapco. my brother and i each built one with recievers from Tennessee guns. went together real easy. just had to drill 3 holes and do a little filing/fitting. nice shooters. i have no need for a 2nd. email me if interested.