Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/7/2012 11:05:36 AM EDT
So I am a working electrician....I am showing my helper how to bend some 1/2 so he can go do something and leave me alone , Got his tying in switch legs, and outlet runs....
He can bend 90's/offsets and KINDA bend a 4 point. Here is he kicker...I can't explain the formula to bending a Shepard's hook

I always bend a 90, the come back and bend an offset on it. Sometimes I have to cut it, other times  bend/tweak it.....but he wants to know "Why"
to everything...I can't explain it   IS there a actual Formula?  Say you need a 10" for a stub coming out of a brick wall.
Link Posted: 11/7/2012 6:03:43 PM EDT
[#1]
Bend a 90 then subtract your stub up from the size of your offset
Link Posted: 11/8/2012 9:49:36 AM EDT
[#2]

Ya lost me, Or my ADD is in high gear....so math...you have a 8 " stub coming out of brick wall, Now...I USED to over bend the 90 {say, 12 " 90} then slide bender back and bend back the 90 until it works...

I finally got into the habit of making a 90 and offsetting..so...with 8",  bend on 30 deg. so mark it at 16"  ?
Link Posted: 11/8/2012 9:52:29 AM EDT
[#3]
graybar sells them prebent

Link Posted: 11/9/2012 5:04:22 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

Pfff...that ain't no fun    Like using a pre-fabbed 90  
Link Posted: 11/9/2012 6:59:14 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

Quoted:

Which are nice to have when dealing with RMC...

Link Posted: 11/9/2012 7:31:23 PM EDT
[#6]