Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 3/20/2006 4:19:42 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/22/2006 2:09:50 PM EDT by oubeta]
Just a reminder the online applications will be online any day now. Don't forget to putin your your Elk (bull) hunt!!

www.wildlifedepartment.com/controlhunt.htm
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 5:05:05 PM EDT
I'll buy a powerball ticket.....I think there is a better chance!
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 5:13:51 PM EDT
I went on it last year and there were several guys there who put in for only one year, then again the median was about 5-20 years or so. Your chances get better every year. Sooner or later you will get drawn.
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 5:14:06 PM EDT

Originally Posted By patrickcudd:
I'll buy a powerball ticket.....I think there is a better chance!

I've been putting in for the elk hunts for over 30 years now! NOT ONCE have I been drawn for it!
But I have drawn McAlester for bow hunting several times over the years - once even for shotgun hunting. Had lots of good luck there, too!
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 5:20:14 PM EDT
How is the McAlester hunt? Is it worth going out and buying a recurv for?
I didn't know they offered gun hunts there
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 5:45:50 PM EDT
I got drawn for deer at Wichita Mountains NWR twice now; once in '95 and again last fall. Killed a nice 7-point buck in '95 and killed a big doe the last time (110 pounds).

I'm afraid Wichita Mountains has just about achieved their 1:1 buck to doe ratio. Finding a doe last year was a little more difficult than it should have been. Saw LOTS of bucks, LOTS of NICE bucks, but very few does. I managed to kill my deer within an hour of sunrise, but the big successes that everyone had in '95 (about 84%) weren't to be had this time. At least not for antlerless hunters.
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 6:00:17 PM EDT

Originally Posted By oubeta:
How is the McAlester hunt? Is it worth going out and buying a recurv for?