Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 3/12/2006 2:34:07 AM EDT
the thread about tspike's brandishing problem got me thinking. does open carry require a holster? or can i just put my pistol in my pocket with the grip showing plain as day? sometimes when i have a night off a take care of trash and mail etc in the dark and gloomy hours. and i find that i just pull on some pants and do whatever i have to do and stick the pistol in the front pocket. i figure it is legal as that is the basic spirit of the law but alas i have not read it word for word. any help would be appreciated.
Link Posted: 3/12/2006 4:07:23 AM EDT
While it seems to me to be legal (I'm not a lawyer, but I've seen one on TV, take it for what it's worth), it's a bad idea to be sticking weapons in your pants with the trigger uncovered. You can buy a cheap nylon inside the pants holster for 7-8 bucks, and just tuck it into your belt with the grip showing. Another decent alternative is a Kydex-type paddle holster that you can just stick into your waistband. (my favorite of the open top versions is Galco's excellent COP series, made of Armortek. nicer than any Kydex.)

Another angle is that if you saw someone with a holstered firearm vs. someone with it jammed into their pants like a thug, what would you think he was? Maybe it's not an issue if you live out in the boonies, but just something to consider.
Link Posted: 3/12/2006 5:31:17 AM EDT