Warning

 

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 1/10/2006 11:01:54 AM EDT
if i were to go to a gun show and buy a gun how does the 5 day wait work. since the gun show only lasts a few days how would i get my gun, do they mail it to your ffl?

please don't tell me to get my ccw, for reasons unknown to me i am not eligible for the license. thanks.

a l l a n
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 11:12:27 AM EDT
Its a 3 day wait for non CCW resident handgun purchases, not 5 day. Yes, it will be mailed to an FFL in your aready specified by the dealer your buying from. They usually use the same FFL in the same area everytime the show comes around to that town.
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 11:28:10 AM EDT

for reasons unknown to me i am not eligible for the license



Hmmm . . .

Link Posted: 1/10/2006 11:29:34 AM EDT
Depending on where the gunshow is it could be 5 days like down in south Florida. Typically the dealers at the show will have made arrangments with a local dealer to handle the tranfers. You pay for the gun and then you can pick it up at the local dealer after your waiting period.

D
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 11:37:30 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/10/2006 11:38:10 AM EDT by agreendale]
thanks for the info guys.

btw, here in palm beach county it's a 5 day wait hinking.gif i bought a .22 today and can't pick it up till next wednesday.


Originally Posted By osprey21:
Hmmm



please don't hmmm... me. i've contacted several agencies about this and no one has answers. i've never even received a traffic ticket.

a l l a n
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 11:45:23 AM EDT
I believe if your able to buy a handgun (pass the call in) you should be able to get a CCW. Should be able to......
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 11:51:42 AM EDT
Florida is a "shall issue" state. If you are declined, they need to inform you as to why.

Don't let this go unchallanged. Get an attorney to help.
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 11:55:24 AM EDT
really, i wonder why my dealer never mentioned this. i'll have to look into it it's been bothering me ever since i moved back down here.

a l l a n

nice avatar btw, go canes!
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 11:59:19 AM EDT

Originally Posted By agreendale:
thanks for the info guys.

btw, here in palm beach county it's a 5 day wait i bought a .22 today and can't pick it up till next wednesday.


Originally Posted By osprey21:


Hmmm . . .




please don't hmmm... me. i've contacted several agencies about this and no one has answers.



Sorry, but it just sounded a bit strange.

I assure you, SOMEONE has the answer(s). Consult an attorney
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 12:03:17 PM EDT
You're 21 or older, right?
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 1:58:30 PM EDT
it is a three day an ffl should have a NICS
ffl user manual and it has a page in it
explaining the waiting period.

monday transfer on friday
tuesday transfer on saturday
wednesday transfer on tuesday
and so on they also lists holidays
any questions i can fax it to you
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 2:14:04 PM EDT
Unless they have finally changed the law, all of this only pertains to buying from an FFL at a gunshow, if you buy from a private seller at a gun show there is no waiting period.

Just felt like chiming in.

Also as above mentioned you usually pick it up from a nearby FFL that they have an arrangement with. The guns I have bought at gunshows in Tallahassee, they always use the pawn shop that is only a couple of miles up theroad from where the gun shows are held.
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 4:05:05 PM EDT

Originally Posted By FL_FlatTop:
The guns I have bought at gunshows in Tallahassee, they always use the pawn shop that is only a couple of miles up theroad from where the gun shows are held.



hell, my friend acually walked up to a completely different dealer that was closer to his house, and asked him if he bought a gun from this other guy if he would do the transfer so he didn't have to drive up to Orlando from Miami.

Link Posted: 1/10/2006 4:59:03 PM EDT
That's usually how it works. If you get a guy who is a real screw he'll charge you a transfer fee just to put it in the hands of a local ffl just for the waiting period.

As for your CCW- as it has been said before, the state is OBLIGATED to inform you as to the reason why you are being denied. It may be as simple as you have a name in common with a con or something that is preventing you for no reason. It NEVER hurts to ask until you get a good answer.
Link Posted: 1/10/2006 9:36:44 PM EDT

Originally Posted By crackerbill2:
it is a three day an ffl should have a NICS
ffl user manual and it has a page in it
explaining the waiting period.

monday transfer on friday
tuesday transfer on saturday
wednesday transfer on tuesday
and so on they also lists holidays
any questions i can fax it to you


The waiting period in Palm Beach and Broward is 5 days. I think it might be the same in Dade as well, but i'm not positive.
Link Posted: 1/11/2006 11:30:56 AM EDT

Originally Posted By Accord:

The waiting period in Palm Beach and Broward is 5 days. I think it might be the same in Dade as well, but i'm not positive.



Yes, it is 5 days in Dade as well. Gotta stop those random killing sprees you know.
Link Posted: 1/11/2006 12:08:11 PM EDT
As others have said, if the gunshow dealer is not a local guy, he will likely have an arrangement with one or more local dealers. It's in their best interest since folks won't buy from them if it will be too much hassle to get it.

For example, I bought a shotgun from a dealer at the Pinellas gunshow, but the dealer was based out of Orlando. I conducted the sale with the Orlando dealer taking care of money, Form 4473 and the call-in. He then arranged for a Pinellas dealer to handle the 3-day wait. So three days later I go to the Pinellas dealer, he checks my ID, hands me the shotgun and I'm on my way.

On the 3-5 day wait, FL state law preempts all local laws/ordinances with the exception that the state gave counties some leeway on waiting periods. For example in my current county of Pasco, there is no wait for rifles, but in Pinellas and Hillsborough there is a 3-day wait unless you have a CCW permit. I didn't have my CCW at the time I bought the shotgun so I had to do the two-dealer-tango thing.

LL
Link Posted: 1/11/2006 4:52:43 PM EDT
I don't mean to hijack your thread...but honestly....if you can proove that you own a gun, then I don't think that you should have to be subject to the wait at all....because it doesn't do anything to prevent you from committing a crime with a gun due to "hostilities." I mean...sure, if you don't own a gun, then it might stop you from shooting someone, but if you already own one....waiting 3-5 days to pick up another isn't going to stop you from doing any shooting, just from doing shooting with that particular gun......anyhow.....

Thread officially un-hijacked.
Link Posted: 1/11/2006 6:39:00 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/11/2006 6:40:17 PM EDT by agreendale]

Originally Posted By fla556guy:
I don't mean to hijack your thread...but honestly....if you can proove that you own a gun, then I don't think that you should have to be subject to the wait at all....because it doesn't do anything to prevent you from committing a crime with a gun due to "hostilities." I mean...sure, if you don't own a gun, then it might stop you from shooting someone, but if you already own one....waiting 3-5 days to pick up another isn't going to stop you from doing any shooting, just from doing shooting with that particular gun......anyhow.....

Thread officially un-hijacked.



too bad everyone doesn't feel the same way, fla556guy hinking.gif i thought the gun shop was playing a trick on me when they said there was a 5 day wait on guns when i came back home to florida, i turned legal when i was stationed in colorado, where you could walk away same day with whatever you decided to buy. oh well. one day...

a l l a n
Link Posted: 1/13/2006 11:10:46 AM EDT
For most counties, there is mo waiting period on rifle purchases and a 3-day wait on handguns. However, under Rev 12 of the FL Constitution, some counties impose a 5-day wait on all purchases unless you have a CCW. This is mostly in place in south Florida counties.

Easy solution - get a CCW permit and you can buy and ride with your new piece the same day.
Link Posted: 1/13/2006 5:02:53 PM EDT
... or you could save your breath and read the original post
Top Top