Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/3/2006 5:07:19 AM EDT
I have a lot of experience with firearms and a little bit with MP5's.  I'm toying with the idea of investing in an MP5-type weapon.  I am unfamiliar with import laws that may or may not affect the ownership of these.  I've always thought that MP5's were great weapons and just want to start gathering information about what I should get.  I don't want to spend $5000, but a couple grand wouldn't be out of the question.  I would like it to be as close to a real HK as possible.  Thanks for any info.
Link Posted: 2/3/2006 5:32:13 AM EDT
[#1]
You have a couple different choices.   The first thing you need to decide is if you want a 16 inch barrel (HK94) or a 9 inch barrel like the MP5 (Short Barreld Rifle).

The second thing you need to decide is clone or German.

The least expensive route is to go clone 16 inch.  Even here, you have 2 options:  
1) If you never intend to go short barrel, get a regular Bobcat BW5.
2) If you may eventually want to go SBR, then get a BW5FS, which has a short MP5 barrel with a barrel extension pinned on to get the barrel to 16 inches.   When you decide to go the SBR route, and file the Form 1 with the ATF.... you can remove the barrel extension once you get the approved From 1 back from the ATF.

If you must go German (which many people recommend), you should look into the California Dept of Corrections HK94s that are on the market right now for around $2,500.

It costs about $1,000 plus or minus to convert a std HK94 into a SBR.
Link Posted: 2/3/2006 6:43:31 AM EDT
[#2]
Is the extra $1000 for SBR conversion of a German gun for parts and labor or taxes?  I would definately go short barrel because it just doesn't seem reight otherwise.
Link Posted: 2/3/2006 6:47:56 AM EDT
[#3]
HK all the way. You won't regret it. If you get a clone you will want to move up to HK anyway. It would just be a matter of time.