Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Page Armory » Blades
Posted: 1/7/2006 2:34:05 PM EDT
guys I had my old buck (110?)folder stolen, forget the model standard 4" folder. That knife would hold an edge for a long time. I have tried a gerber, plain jane 2" lock blade, and it is a bear to sharpen, and the edge lasts a very short time. I have a Camilus buckmaster. very easy to sharpen, open and holds an edge. It's great to skin a deer, but It is so wobbly when locked, I would be scared to use it for defensive purposes.

I just want a nice, light 4" folder with belt clip for every day carry. NC concealed carry is for handguns only, not knives, hence the need for a belt clip. I have heard cold steel was excellent, I have looked at those all the way to Combat Elite Brand. what should i look for, in between the $45 Cold Steel to those $200 Combat Elite?

Any help would be nice

Thanks

Gene
Link Posted: 1/7/2006 2:44:51 PM EDT
I like my Benchmade Mel Pardue. Not really expensive, very sharp, holds a edge and has a belt clip that you can remove if you don't want it
Link Posted: 1/7/2006 5:21:52 PM EDT
Find an older Buck Model 110 on the 'net, and get the guy over at blade forums to put a pocket clip on it for you for $20.

He has a pic listed that shows the 110 with the Ti scales with a low ride clip he installed. He does very good work, and is highly recommended.
Link Posted: 1/7/2006 6:58:20 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/7/2006 7:13:34 PM EDT by Backstop]
I have recently found the perfect EDC for me: Benchmade 511.

Has a belt clip - might work for you.

And man, this thing arrived SHARP!

EDIT:

Had to go look at it as I couldn't remember the number. I have a Buck 112 right here - had it more than 20 yrs.

I had forgotten all about this knife - this thing has been all over the planet with me.

Mine is exactly this vintage, but in a little worse shape, especially the sheath.

Another edit: