Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/29/2003 6:57:31 AM EDT
Well, I'm trying to decide whether or not to just buy a couple of cases of ammo, or buy a reloader.

How much are you guys really reloading .45 for? I'm figuring I can get good .45 by the case for about $10.00 a box.

Is it going to be worth it to reload for me?

Also, how much time does it take you? Another factor for me is that I have VERY little free time. Especially during the summer months. Between work, and all the stuff I need to keep up with at hime, I'm pretty busy.

What do you guys think?
Link Posted: 6/29/2003 7:18:40 AM EDT
[#1]
I have been reloading for the 45 for Many, many years. It all depends on how much you shoot.
Hard cast lead bullets will save you bunches of money. About $18.00 for 500, $7 for 500 primers,$18.00 for 1 pound of powder. If you load 5.5grains of powder(just an average, check your reloading manual) you will get 1272 rounds out of 1 can of powder. I assume you already have once fired brass, and in a 45 IT will last forever. Your cost to make 1000 45 rounds is roughly $68, plus you have enough powder left over to make 272 moore rounds.

So by your numbers you'd save $32 a case. If the .45 were the only cartrige I were going to reload, I wouldn't bother.

Real money savings come when you load High performance Rifle rounds, like Nosler ballistic tips in 300 mag. I can load 100 rounds for about $60 where 100 store bought rounds are going to cost me about $145
Link Posted: 6/29/2003 9:56:24 AM EDT
[#2]
I load for .45 and 9mm. chaos4570 is right on point. The only thing I'll add is that my loads (200 grn LSWC over 5.5 gn WW 231) is MUCH more accurate than factory ammo.

An added bonus is that my kids like to help.

Mike
Link Posted: 6/29/2003 3:32:13 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted: