Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/15/2002 7:35:34 PM EDT
I am new to the handgun world.  I have a few rifles including a Bushmaster AR15.  I recently picked up a S&W 686 Plus .357 Mag with a 4" Barrel. When I took it to the range I wasnt satisfied.  I was shooting 1 foot groups at 25 yards with PMC 158 grain JSP ammo (.357).  Is this normal?  What, if anything could have caused this?  It was not just this one time.  This has happened the three times I have been to the range, indoor and out.
Link Posted: 7/16/2002 5:41:23 AM EDT
[#1]
Not to imply operator error in anyway, have you let someone else try it yet? I find it hard to think even S&W would let one go out the door like that. If thats the case, it would be on its way back to Massatwoshitz.
Link Posted: 7/16/2002 6:00:56 AM EDT
[#2]
Thanks for the response.  Yeah...i did let others shoot it.  My friend and my girlfriend.  Both of which are decent shots at worst.  They both had the same problem.
Link Posted: 7/16/2002 8:38:59 AM EDT
[#3]
Two things.  One, make sure the gun is clean, especially around the forcing cone.  Two, try some different ammo.  The gun should do much better thn that.  

Link Posted: 7/16/2002 2:38:10 PM EDT
[#4]
Absolutely try some different ammo.  I'd suggest 125gr. first.  I had a non-S&W revolver that absolutely would not shoot 158 grain bullets, but loved 125 grain, and kicked ass with 110 grain.  As the weight went up, the groups opened.  I have no idea why.
Link Posted: 7/16/2002 2:58:48 PM EDT
[#5]
Thats what i'm going to try for now.  Maybe the short barrel and the long barrel twist rate may not be able to balance out the 158 grain round...hmmm.  We shall see.  Thanks guys...you've been helpful as always.
Link Posted: 7/16/2002 3:11:43 PM EDT
[#6]

Quoted: