Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 4/5/2006 10:51:05 PM EDT
newbie here looking at first build and lots of decisions to make.

was thinking of getting the m4 feedramp mega upper, but is it considered mil-spec? if not, what mil-spec upper would match the dark mega finish?

what shops would take your upper and build it up to a complete upper? thinking of going with a 16" recon stainless barrel,midlength free float handguards, front and rear flip up sights. undecided on the a2, vortex, or phantom flash hider.

any recommendation on the bolt carrier? i really like the chrome look and it's supposed to be easier to clean, but are there any drawbacks?

how about the lpk's. i keep reading cmt/stag or rra are good, but are there any out there considered great?

any brand recommendations for the above? this will be my first semi build and i'm looking for accuracy, quality, reliability.

feel free to make any recommendations since i'm not fixated on particular brand as of now!
Link Posted: 4/6/2006 1:52:52 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 4/6/2006 1:55:46 AM EDT by faethor]
it's hard to go wrong with CMT products, including their uppers and LPK's. i like to order them here

i personally would stay away from chrome carriers as they can be hit and miss as far as finish and quality. just buy a quality M16 carrier and a good bolt. again, CMT will work just fine. you can buy Colt, but expect to pay more.

for the price of going to a gunsmith, you could buy an action block and armorer's wrench and do the assembly work yourself. find a good quality barrel. many here, including me, like CMMG