Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 9/3/2003 3:57:06 PM EDT
I'm new to AR rifles, and I was wondering if this is a Pre-Ban Colt M4. Please excuse the beginner questions in my first post. Here's what I'm looking at:

Colt gray rifle, blue label box, model R6551, manufactured in early 1994. Lower is marked "Sporter Target Model Cal .223" Has the sear block.

The upper is A2, not a flat top, marked "CMB" on the handle, and has a tiny "circle in a square" as well. Rear sight wheel is marked "8/3".

Barrel is 16", has the A2 flash hider, and is profiled for a grenade launcher, has a bayo lug, marked "B MP 5.56 NATO 1/9"

Front sight has a "crown" symbol on the left side.

When I look through the vent holes in the hand guards, I can not see the gas tube due to the black metal shield inside - are these the M4 hanguards with double heat shields?

Bolt carrier has a "C"

I'm about to put a Colt collapsible stock on this rifle, so will this become an M4/A2? Or do all M4 rifles have the flat-top receiver?

If this is not an M4, then what is this called, just a "carbine"? Did Colt ship these uppers in '94, or is this a retrofit? Any explanation of the markings would be greatly appreciated.

Last question: I don't want to overpay for this rifle, so what would be it's market value in about 98% condition, with what looks like very, very few rounds shot?

Thanks for such an informative forum!
Link Posted: 9/3/2003 4:22:04 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/3/2003 4:23:52 PM EDT by shamayim]