BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/6/2001 2:11:14 PM EDT
Link Posted: 8/6/2001 2:16:32 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 8/6/2001 2:18:20 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm no plumer, but I think some hot water heaters are lined with a coating or something against rust ??? Possible it's peeling off ???
Link Posted: 8/6/2001 2:24:24 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 8/6/2001 2:30:56 PM EDT
[#4]
I'm a retired plumber, so youre in luck, sort of.  The white material \, if it is stone-like in consistinscy, is in fact limestone, from the lime dissolved in the water.  There are availabel, electronic water softeners called de-ionizers.  Get one and install it on your incoming water line.  This removes the ionizing electron from the lime, causing it to become non-reactive.  Over time, the de-ionizer will remove scale buildup from the existing plumbing. If you call a softener dealer, they will try to talk you out of the deionizer, saying that it does not remove the limestone.  Well, no shit!  It makes the lime non-reactive.  Any plumbing supply house should be able to help you out, and any idiot can install one.
Link Posted: 8/6/2001 2:43:14 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 8/6/2001 2:48:54 PM EDT
[#6]
You have mail
Link Posted: 8/6/2001 3:15:31 PM EDT
[#7]
Run 2 quarts of vinegar through the water heater
It will dissolve the mineral scale
Do a quart every 6 months
Link Posted: 8/6/2001 4:37:57 PM EDT
[#8]
Troy:

Given the age of your house, I'll bet it's the dip tube in the water heater.  The dip tube is the plastic pipe in the water heater that carries cold water from the inlet down toward the bottom of the tank.

We lost a water heater in the 1/94 Northridge earthquake and replaced it with a gas-fired heater from State Industries.  After ~5 years, we began to notice that the aerators in the sinks were getting clogged with these fine bits of granular white debris.  They were the size and consistency of laundry detergent.  We were cleaning aerators every three days or so in the kitchen.