Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 9/8/2002 2:42:08 PM EDT
Did anyone here ever sell stuff using a C.O.D. through the U.S. Postal Service? Their web site says they will take either cash or personal check at the buyer's end. I am wondering what ways there are for the buyer to weasel around on the deal. Some $225 is involved. Naturally a rubber check comes to mind. I have had little experience with this stuff, but do recall sending something COD through a trucking company once and they screwed it up. Seems that the they couldn't get the guy to come in and pick up the merchandise at their depot, and we wound up getting screwed out of the return shipping. In another case, they lost the package. But I don't have a very good feeling about the current guy, just on the way he interacts. If you know any tricks that might be tried, let me know. He doesn't want to use paypal or send the money before he opens the package. He says he doesn't want to pays that kind of money and receive a box full of bricks. I understand that, but frankly I think if he can't deal with that kind of risk, then on-line auctions are not the way for him to do business. I've even heard of paypal transactions being withdrawn in some kind of window of time during a sale. What can you guys tell me about the in's & out's of C.O.D. ?
Link Posted: 9/9/2002 8:23:56 PM EDT
Anybody?
Link Posted: 9/9/2002 10:24:43 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/9/2002 10:26:55 PM EDT by Only_Hits_Count]
Not familiar with Post Office. UPS will do it for a $5.50 in addition to shipping cost(both paid up front). You can specify money order or cashiers check only. Added: I believe Gunbroker.com offers some type of a buyers guarantee-possiblyt for a 'resonable fee' -check their website.
Link Posted: 9/10/2002 12:22:49 AM EDT