Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 7/21/2011 12:11:44 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Zhukov]
Link Posted: 7/21/2011 12:34:04 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Zhukov] [#1]
Link Posted: 7/21/2011 12:46:56 PM EDT
[Last Edit: packingXDs] [#2]
I settled on Kershaw Shun (stainless). I worked as a butcher and tried many of the staples of the knife world and none of them really impressed me. Either the ergos sucked, or they were a pain to get an edge on, or the edge didn't hold well. I first bought a  Santoku. It was razor sharp, great ergos, just the right size, etc. The edge held for a fair while, and was back to a razor after a couple seconds on a steel.

I now own:

6" Santoku

Boning Knife

Utility Knife

Paring Knife

Steak Knives (4)

All are Shun. All are SS except the steak knives, which I bought most recently. It seems they discontinued the series. Not a big deal, but I like the looks of SS better. Not too mention I find them easier to clean since the handle/blade are a seamless single piece with smooth contours.

Link Posted: 7/21/2011 12:47:22 PM EDT
[#3]
I bought a Lamson Sharp stamped set for the wife, she is very happy with it.

USA Made, not to expensive and they can take a beating, even with rosewood handles.

Link Posted: 7/21/2011 2:11:51 PM EDT
[Last Edit: edb66] [#4]

All you really need is a chefs knife and a bread knife; After that the sky is the limit.

Obviously I'm all over the freakin map here. Some of these are gone and some I'm still trying to get set up right.

The ones I use the most

Japanese Chefs Knives Kagayaki VG10 240mm Gyuto(chefs knife) This thing is a fuckin razor blade It's thin, light and just cuts like magic.

Shun classic Left handed wide blade santoku. It's thicker than the first one and lacks a point but still a nice knife, lifetime free sharpening too!

Forschner Fibrox bread knife. $23 bucks if it gets dull I'll throw it out and buy another.

Chan Chi Kee 1302 vegetable slicer. just cause I wanted to learn to use a Chinese cleaver.