Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/9/2003 1:39:00 PM EDT
OK I have only been in about a half-dozen fights in my life, and haven't been in any for several years.

I know some of you guys get into rumbles regularly (Devl, others).

My question is, in a real fight, when both people have an adrenaline dump, do nerve techniques have any effect, or does the rush of adrenaline mask out any pain that would come from applying a technique to a pressure point or nerve complex?
Link Posted: 6/9/2003 8:06:15 PM EDT
[#1]

I'm no expert on this topic, but I would think that to effectively implement "nerve techniques" you would have to have a considerable amount of training.

That said, sensitivity to pain might be slightly diminished by adrenaline, but unless your opponent is drugged up on something the techniques should work on him.
Link Posted: 6/10/2003 2:15:51 AM EDT
[#2]
I would think that pressure point techniques interefer with neuro-transmissions, and are independent of adrenaline. Tsar guns are an example of interfering/over-loading the neurons.

To wit: It won't matter how pissed/psyched your opponent is. If the impulses can't get to where they are needed....

Kyusho in martial arts is the study of pressure points. You may want to do a "search" to earn more.

My $0.02 worth.
Link Posted: 6/15/2003 2:06:58 AM EDT
[#3]
Medical opinion here...

From what we know of pain, there are few things that 'stop' impulses.  Short of exogenous chemicals (drugs) your body has a limited arsenal of things it can do.

Adrenaline (or, as well call it, Epinepherine... also coupled with dopamine and norepinepherine) has no effect on pain sensation.  What happens is that the 'adrenaline' causes some endorphins to release.  This causes the same effect of taking an analgesic... less pain.  However, its only effective for a short period of time AND it can be overrided.