BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/30/2016 8:01:15 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Glock9]

The Build
Bushmaster lower
Aero Precision Upper
Lilja 24” 260 Rem Barrel (Original ordered a Shilen)
Magppul PRS Stock
Vortex Viper HS 6x24 first focal plane scope with Vortex 20moa Scope base
JP Enterprise Competition 3lb trigger
JP Enterprise 17.5” free float hand guard
Superlative Arms adjustable gas block
Harris Bipod

I’ve been building AR pattern rifles since I joined in 2001.   I’ve built well over a dozen in various calibers and configurations and with the exception of a silenced SBR in 9mm have functioned flawlessly. (The 9mm eventually was fine tuned to become a great performer.)

Well this build started in August of this year with a $$$$ order from Midway USA for the Scope, Trigger, Shilen 260 barrel etc.  I already had a Bushmaster LR-308 that I scavenged the lower, bolt and charging handle from and sold the barreled upper on the EE and used the funds to complete the build.

Decided to go the 260 Rem route instead of the 6.5 Creedmoor since the ballistics were so similar and I have an investment in 308 reloading.
Purchased the Aero Upper and JP hand guard from other members and scoured my parts bin for the remaining items.

I watched and thoroughly enjoyed Fitty’s (tfblkhwkguy) video on his 6.5 Creed build http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_16_4/3893_My_6_5_Creedmoor_Build.html
Following his advice, I had the receiver lapped, used the Indian head gasket cement and tourqed the barrel to spec trying to get the best accuracy possible from this build.   Replaced the stock trigger with the JP Enterprises competition trigger and tuned it for a glass break 2.5 lbs.  Added the Vortex scope with the 20 MOA mount and level aligned and bore sighted.