Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/21/2017 3:24:02 PM EDT
So I'm new to the precision rifle game and I'm having issues getting under 1 moa. The rifle is a Savage 12 lrp in 6.5 Creedmoor, I'm using Hornady 140 grain eld match ammo. I'm not new to rifle shooting,but this is my first bolt action. All of my groups are just over an inch or right at an inch at 100 yards. My question is how do I know if it's my technique or something is off with the rifle? I'm leaning toward my technique being the issue.
Link Posted: 8/21/2017 3:36:42 PM EDT
[#1]
I didn't have good results with any of the Hornady ammo. My worst reloads so far were twice as good as any flavor I tried. I am shooting a Tikka.
Link Posted: 8/21/2017 3:52:38 PM EDT
[#2]
Every gun seems to have their own personality so you should shoot a few different brands and bullet weights and go from there. Everyone brags on how good Prime is especially in the aftermarket barrels but it shot the worst in mine. Federal American Eagle shoots the best. Both the 120 and 140 ELD Hornady were somewhere in the middle. You just have to experiment.
Link Posted: 8/21/2017 3:57:12 PM EDT
[#3]
Factory ammo?  Usually pretty good if you can get close to an inch.
Link Posted: 8/21/2017 4:50:01 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 8/21/2017 5:36:49 PM EDT
[#5]
What about having someone else try shooting your rifle with that ammo? Or maybe try something like a lead sled? Take "you" out of the equation.
Link Posted: 8/21/2017 11:36:07 PM EDT
[#6]
Gotta try more ammo.  Every rifle likes what it likes.  For me the Hornady Black 6.5CM 140gr BTHP shots as good or slightly better than the more expensive 140gr ELD-Match ammo.  Hovering around 1" with a factory gun and factory ammo is pretty good though.
Link Posted: 8/22/2017 12:16:41 AM EDT
[#7]