Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/13/2008 1:55:01 PM EDT
There's a big difference in price, so I thought I would ask here for advice.

Also, do I need to stock up on canning-wax and canning-salt?  I'm brand new to this.

Thanks.
Link Posted: 7/13/2008 3:37:51 PM EDT
[#1]
I have both.
I have had the Presto (7 qrt capacity) for 20+ years.  Great canner.  Only draw back is capacity and the gasket.
i've had my All American (14 qrt capacity) almost a year - love it.  Only draw back is the price.

I can about 48 quarts at a time.  with the Presto that would take all day, it now takes exactly half that amount of time or less since I don't occasionally lose time resealing the Presto

I've been buying pork, chicken, and hamburger at $1 a lb or cheaper and have put up a couple hundred pounds.
Link Posted: 7/13/2008 5:14:54 PM EDT
[#2]
The AA canners are overbuilt -- enough to hand down safely to your grandkids, if you do not boil it dry.  The Presto will need replacement gaskets on a scheduled basis.  THe AA has zero gaskets.

Wax seals are generally frowned on these days, but I have used them on jellies in the past and they kept for over a decade without spoilage.

Canning salt is important if you are pickling foods.

For some excellent canning advice visit the forums at www.mrssurvival.com and read thru their canning info.
Link Posted: 7/13/2008 5:33:51 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 7/13/2008 8:10:03 PM EDT
[#4]
I have used both, but I currently use and prefer the All American design.  We use it on an outdoor cooker, it is too heavy for regular use in the kitchen.  If I ever see a used two level all American Pressure canner at a good price I will purchase it also.

We bought ours new (as a cosmetic second) from All American a number of years ago, I now wish I would have bought two of them.
Link Posted: 7/13/2008 9:33:49 PM EDT
[#5]

All American for the win.