Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/9/2014 5:07:00 PM EDT
My degree is in criminal justice, but I never used it.  Have been in business for myself for the last 12 years.

Any LEO's that could give me information; pro's and con's, etc.

Link Posted: 8/9/2014 5:50:52 PM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
My degree is in criminal justice, but I never used it.  Have been in business for myself for the last 12 years.

View Quote

Keep in mind, even though you have a Criminal Justice Degree, you will STILL have to go though a Law Enforcement Academy.

And at Forty, that won't be fun.

Forty is a little late too start, but I'm quite a bit older than that. The only person that can determine if you are too old is you.

I would suggest a few "Ride Alongs".
Link Posted: 8/9/2014 7:44:59 PM EDT
[#2]
Depends on determination and physical fitness
couple of us went thru at about 40 with a bunch of 22 year old and finished 1-2
Link Posted: 8/9/2014 8:09:25 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:

View Quote
Not too old.  I've had older come through my academy classes.  As someone who is in charge of hiring, you are going to get the question from me why you are making this life altering decision.  Having just run a hiring process where over 190 people applied for one position, and of that at least half had already been through the academy, competition in the larger metro area markets will be... competitive.   And though some may say your "life experience" is a benefit, that line won't last for long.

We are in the process of revamping our retirement process because LE is rough on the body.  By the time you start hitting the mid 50's, I start getting paperwork for potentially debilitating injuries including back, necks and knees.  We are trying to get you out of the business by the time you are hitting 60'ish, so your career length wouldn't be that long and your retirement wouldn't be that profound.

Link Posted: 8/9/2014 8:43:18 PM EDT
[#4]