Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/4/2008 12:27:12 PM EDT
I am a SC resident and will be doing some business in GA. I know my carry permit is no good but what are the laws for transport in a vehicle? Unloaded, loaded? Open view or glove box?
Link Posted: 10/4/2008 12:45:05 PM EDT
[#1]
As long as you are eligible to possess a firearm in GA, you can have it anywhere in the car.

16-11-126

e) This Code section shall not forbid any person who is not among those enumerated as ineligible for a license under Code Section 16-11-129 from transporting a loaded firearm in any private passenger motor vehicle.

Check out www.georgiapacking.org   They have a gun laws in english section.

Now, WTF is with your legislature.  Why in the heck did they change the mutual reciprocity to a similar standard reciprocity bill.

Link Posted: 10/4/2008 12:53:52 PM EDT
[#2]
Idiots. Only states in the SE that don't have reciprocity are us.
Link Posted: 10/4/2008 1:49:52 PM EDT
[#3]
Actually you can't have a loaded gun just "ANYWHERE" in your car.  It either has to be in plain view (on dash), or it has to be in a center console or glove box.  You can't have it under a seat, tucked between the seat, in the door map compartment, etc without a permit.  

My sister lives in Myrtle Beach, SC.  Can you elighten us about where we can have a loaded gun in the car while driving in SC?   I think it is pretty similar, but figured you could help clear it up, Magick.

Enjoy Georgia!
Link Posted: 10/4/2008 2:41:38 PM EDT
[#4]
Same deal. Can't be in the open or crammed somewhere. Glovebox, console or trunk. NC is the ass backwards one where it has to be displayed openly in the car. I am headed to a town called Tifton. From what I understand it is a bit north of Valdosta. Any place that is a must eat at in that area?
Link Posted: 10/4/2008 2:51:43 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted: