Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/6/2003 3:06:18 PM EDT
Hello everyone,

I am really new to this so sorry for sounding like an idiot. I am looking to build an AR15 but I am lucky enough to live in Cal. geez.

Not sure about the laws here when ordering an upper/lower. From what I can tell you can order any upper kit without an FFL. Is this true?

As far as a lower goes I guess to stay legal you need to have a fixed mag (FAB-10)? Would say Turners carry such a thing?

Any input about likes/dislikes of different combinations (upper/lower) would be great.

Thanks in advance.
Link Posted: 5/6/2003 7:45:26 PM EDT
[#1]
Welcome to the board - don't mind me if I throw in a couple of political comments do you?

If you're active duty military stationed here on orders you are in luck as they can bring real rifles into the state. Otherwise there's no legal way you can get a real detachable AR in California.

You can order everything for an AR except for the lower from anyone you want to. To buy even a California legal lower you have to go though an FFL.

The only AR lowers that are legal for purchase are the FAB and the pump AR from DPMS. Other manufactures are talking about making California complaint lowers but I'm not aware of any yet. Here you can not build your own rifle from raw aluminum either like in the other United States.

As your rifle is going have a fixed 10 round maximum magazine you're not looking for a serious social rifle - one that you're going to bet your life on. You best fun is going to come from plinking or target practice. Both will hone your marksmenship skills and get you use to handling the AR for the day the United States over throws the Caliban.