Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
11/22/2017 10:05:29 PM
Posted: 8/31/2004 4:02:35 PM EST
I just bought a new craftsman pushmower a couple weeks ago. Its a 6.5 horse briggs and stratton 22" deck and not self propelled. I hit a small stump while cutting the other day. It didnt come to an abrupt halt as I lifted the deck as soon as I heard it hit. It stalled and I checked the blade and it was slightly bent.

So today I put a blade I had on to check how it ran and Im noticing a small miss now. I only ran it for about 2 minutes as it was getting late. I would think if I hurt the engine internals I would hear it and not in the form of an engine miss. Could it be spark related? I dont know how these little briggs and stratton motors are timed or if they even are?

Anyone have any experience with this?
Link Posted: 8/31/2004 4:07:23 PM EST
I'm not a mower mechanic but you may have bent a rod just enough for it to not be getting the fuel compressed enough before the engine fires again. What I would do is take it back to Sears and tell them the problem. It will be up to you whether you tell them it WHAT happened. It is still under warrenty isn't it? I hope this helps. Take care. Coondog
Link Posted: 8/31/2004 4:10:28 PM EST
If it still under warrenty take it to get looked at. The mowers arnt hard to work on but they are a pain in the rear to tear them down to the point where you can work on them
Link Posted: 8/31/2004 4:15:40 PM EST
I had the same thing happen fairly recently with a Honda mower. Turned out that I bent the crank.
Link Posted: 8/31/2004 4:20:24 PM EST
You either bent the crankshaft which is a common occurance when hitting a solid object and it isn't covered by warranty. Or you partially sheared the flywheel key which will throw the timing off, make it hard to start. Again, not covered by warranty.

Link Posted: 8/31/2004 4:21:00 PM EST