Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 8/15/2005 8:56:57 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 8/15/2005 8:57:57 PM EDT by hanau]
where is the best place to buy silver bars?
silver closed at $6.93 a oz.
called a couple of coin dealers and silver 1 oz bars where going in the $9.00 range.
i want to start buying some silver on paydays,but i can't see having to pay $2-$3 mark up on it.
so where do i need to look to find silver at close to trading price.

yes i am new in buying silver. i rather buy it 1 oz bars than buying coins.alot harder for it to be accidentally
spent.
it something that would be easier for my to buy couple times a month and maybe later down the road trading it in and getting gold.

to me i think it would be easier for me to save than having cash laying around.
Link Posted: 8/15/2005 8:57:57 PM EDT
If you found it at spot online you'll probably end up paying a bunch in shipping so it might not come out too far off to just buy it local.
Link Posted: 8/15/2005 9:01:05 PM EDT
I just buy mine at the Local Jeweler in the Mall, he has NO markup, he sells for whatever the current Market Price is, he even has a TV in the store he has soley for keeping up on the worth of precious metals.

And and Specop_007 is right, just buy local, shippings a bitch, I found that out the hard way too
Link Posted: 8/15/2005 9:06:39 PM EDT
Just buy mining stocks

PAAS
CDE
SSRI
Link Posted: 8/15/2005 9:08:15 PM EDT
didn't think about a jewler in the mall.
thanks i will look into them payday.

how do i know for sure, that what i buy is all silver .999% besides what is stamped on the bar?
and not just silver plated
Link Posted: 8/15/2005 9:18:49 PM EDT

Originally Posted By hanau:

how do i know for sure, that what i buy is all silver .999% besides what is stamped on the bar?

density = weight/volume
Link Posted: 8/15/2005 10:18:33 PM EDT