Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/6/2001 9:23:49 AM EDT
I am currently a college student graudating this May in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.  

I am confused as to what to do with my life.  I am looking into going in the Army or Air Force.  My thinking is that if I go into the Army I've already been guaranteed Airborne infantry with Ranger school if I go enlisted.  Another option is to go in as an officer.  The third option involves going into the Air Force as an officer.

My understanding is, if I go Army I'm basically looking for adventure and doing cool stuff.  Would that better fit me as an enlistee or an officer? If I go Air Force, I'll be more in tuned with tech stuff and have a brighter prospect in the civilian world later on in what my major deals with.

help!
Link Posted: 4/6/2001 9:25:32 AM EDT
[#1]
doh!  I forgot to post my question.

Could you post comments and experiences in those particular fields of the military?  Thanks.
Link Posted: 4/6/2001 9:34:53 AM EDT
[#2]
Anybody that is breathing is eligible for Infantry/Airborne school.  Trust me when I say that it is not all Adventure/fun when you are sitting in the field, its sleeting out, you have to eat a cold MRE, and you have to be up most of the night because some LT wants 50% guard duty.  
Take the AF as an Officer, get lots of good training that will help with civilian career-you also get treated better in the AF.  I think the enlisted AF people get treated better than the Officer Army people.  The AF has a hell of alot more high tech stuff going on than the Army ever will.  It would seem a waste to have a edumacated collige stoodent sitting in a foxhole with their brain going numb.
Link Posted: 4/6/2001 9:40:22 AM EDT
[#3]
it depends on your skin tone,  if you are a summer then go army,  if you are a fall - go airforce, as blue is a cooler tone and will compliment your face with or with out makeup on.