Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/7/2006 7:56:54 PM EDT
Currently running a 4 camera setup at my business, and thinking of looking into that new fangled computer camera stuff.

I'm running an Ultrak splitter, and some fairly old-school cameras [dunno the brand], record to VCR. 2 cams outside, 2 cams inside. I'd like to add 1 more outside and 1 more inside.

What would I be looking at price wise and labor to upgrade to a six camera setupl, run to a comp, archived on a hard drive etc? Can I just add 2 cameras or will I need to replace them all???

Thanks in advance.
Link Posted: 2/7/2006 10:03:16 PM EDT
[#1]
It sounds like you do not need a high flying Digital Video Recorder, just something better than you've got. I do this for a living, and for a small (no offense) operation I would use this:EZWatch Pro  It is expandable, and a fairly low-cost option.  (I am not affiliated with them, just put it in before for customers who had it, and now recommend it to potential customers who do not want/need the High Speed/Low Drag stuff we do sell)See their web site for the pricing, features, and system requirements.  I have put this in, and it is a nice system and a very good value, bang for your buck wise.  I think the business grade version will record up to 7.5 frames/second per camera or lower, depending on your requirements.  The professional grade will do higher frames/sec. but is more expensive.  This will also record audio if you have it, but it is one less channel your could use for video on that board (4 channels total per board, either video OR audio, 1 audio channel/board) Software is also accessible over a network, which is really cool.  It can also email you an alarm if detected, i.e. motion.  Check their website, lots of features.