Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/16/2004 8:31:39 PM EDT
I have used Linux before, but the computer that I had some problems. I worked with it and then slowly lost time to work on it (You know how it is) and it is really old. So I havn't used Linux since Mandrake 8.2.

Anyway, I can get an HP computer (filled with junk, spyware, ect) cheap. It has 256mb ram (will upgrade) and a 30g hd. (That is all the specifics that I remember but the rest was good). I want to wipe the HD and install Linux. Here are my questions:

-I have Mandrake 8.2, can I get it upgraded to 10?
-Any "must have" software?
-Any other ideas?

I have a large computer background and I have had some experience installing OS's.

Thanks!

Edited for spelling, other stuff.  
Link Posted: 10/16/2004 8:42:46 PM EDT
[#1]
I first started out on Mandrake 8.2. 10.0 is light years ahead. If you want to upgrade, the best thing would probably be to just download the iso images and burn them to disk. Boot the computer using disk 1 and you are well on your way to a new installation.
Link Posted: 10/16/2004 8:52:21 PM EDT
[#2]
Any reason you're hot for Mandrake?  I've been using Knoppix and Morphix lately, which are based on Debian, as well as Debian on some servers I was helping people out on, and the ease of maintenance is fantastic.

Debian has a maintenance system called APT (apt-get for command line, aptitude for curses-based tty, maybe others  for GUI) which is just wunnerful.  Need a new package installed, it downloads it over the network and sets it up automatically.  Dependencies are noted when you select the package to install.  Need to reinstall or update ("upgrade"), same deal.  Uninstalling is a breeze.

I used to be a big fan of Mandrake because of the pretty GUI, but Debian's ease of maintenance is so far beyond dealing with RPMs that there's no way I'll go back.