Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/2/2008 6:09:03 PM EDT
I got my temporary permit about a month ago, and my boss has been letting me ride his Suzuki DRZ 400cc around the parking lots at work. Eventually, I want a sport bike.

A couple people have told me to just get an older 600cc sport bike next. I just don't know if it's a good idea to go from dirt bike to sport bike. I have absolutely no experience other than the couple hours of riding time on the DRZ.

So where should I go from here? My biggest concern is being one of those guys who wrecks their sport bike 5 minutes after buying it!

Edit: Forgot to mention that money is an issue now, but wouldn't be when I graduate in May 09. I'm pretty much limited to a beater bike at the moment
Link Posted: 9/2/2008 7:12:05 PM EDT
[#1]
At the risk of drinking the kool-aid, and at the risk of recommending a bike I have very little personal experience with, you really can't go wrong with an SV650.

The biggest thing (no matter what you end up buying) is to enroll yourself in an MSF class. I did way back when, and you'll learn things your buddies won't teach you, you'll learn things not covered in the DMV handbook, and you'll learn things that even experience (and a couple of get offs) won't always teach.

I can honestly say it's one of the best things I ever did, and it gave me the (rudimentary) skills needed to throw a leg over pretty much ANY bike, without worrying that it was "too much" for me.

Even a superbike doesn't make gobs of power off idle. It doesn't go fast unless you want it to.

Buy used, and for the love of God don't finance a toy. You can get a nice used SV650 for $3500 - $4000.