Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/17/2001 3:04:29 PM EDT
This post is directed at those of you from MA or anyone who is knowledgable. I recently moved to Allston, MA and need to file for an FID card. I went to the licensing department at the Boston Police HQ this morning and everyone there had there own interpretation of what the law is. Also, NRAILA says that I have 60 days to acquire an FID after moving into MA, but the people down at licensing say you have to have the FID card before bringing any guns into the state. Is this true? The reason I tend to doubt them is because they couldn't even decide wether or not I am a resident or non-resident since I am a college student. I guess three heads aren't better than one. I do know that I need my birth certificate and proof of MA/Boston address...what else is required? Also, what type of FID card is needed for possession of AR type rifles, a Mossberg 590, and handguns w/ "large" capacity mags. I would like to be able to carry the side arms. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Link Posted: 9/17/2001 3:21:11 PM EDT
btt
Link Posted: 9/17/2001 4:43:46 PM EDT
It's been a long time since I left Mass behind, high taxes is right. Do you actually reside in Boston? My understanding is you must file with the police chief in the town you live in. I also think you have to be 21 to own a handgun. If the local cops can't give you a straight answer try the local state police barracks. WWW.Packing.org may have some info...it mostly deals with CCW but there may be something.
Link Posted: 9/17/2001 5:37:40 PM EDT