Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/25/2013 5:34:07 PM EDT
I'm an Illinois-certified concealed carry instructor. It's brand new, and the Illinois State Police is clueless, so there are a lot of questions about the way everything is going to work.  

The law requires 16 hours of training:
An applicant for a new license shall provide proof of
completion of a firearms training course or combination of
courses approved by the Department of at least 16 hours, which
includes range qualification time under subsection (c) of this
Section...
View Quote

However, the law also allows applicants to submit 8 hours of previous training towards that 16, if it's approved by the Illinois State Police.
The Department and certified firearms instructor shall
recognize up to 8 hours of training already completed toward
the 16 hour training requirement under this Section if the
training course is approved by the Department and recognized
under the laws of another state.
View Quote

Interestingly, the instructor is responsible for counting up the hours and applying them towards the total. The applicant must then submit the certificate signed by the instructor, along with the proof of the previous 8 hours of training, and the ISP will then process the application.

Now, here's where it gets weird.  The emergency rules under which the entire process is operating right now says:
For those applicants who provided proof of up to 8 hours of training already completed toward the 16 hours training, the Instructor shall:
1) certify the aggregate number of hours for which the applicant provided proof of instruction in Firearms Safety, Basic Principles of Marksmanship, and Care, Cleaning, Loading and Unloading of a Concealable Firearm
View Quote

The State Police released the list of courses that have been accepted for prior training.  It says: