Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/31/2009 11:01:45 AM EDT
Gentlemen, I live a 13 year old starter home, I do expect to live here for the next 10-15+ years and am wondering which flooring type to choose. I have three pets, two cats and a small dog, so whatever I choose needs to be scratch/pee resistant. I am looking at either Pergo laminate or Bruce hardwoods lock and fold products wood or laminate. I wish to keep the price under $4.00 per sq foot, and I will be installing it myself, that alone will save me $2000! Your opinions please.

Second question, which sort of mitre saw do you recommend. I am looking at a Dewalt six inch cutting area. What brands do you recommend? All I have ever used is Dewalt when I used to work in construction. Other brands are cheaper but I do not wish to compromise quality for price. Your opinions please.
Link Posted: 7/31/2009 11:08:59 AM EDT
[#1]
get snap together flooring, and you can't go wrong with DeWalt
Link Posted: 7/31/2009 11:17:22 AM EDT
[#2]
you mentioned pets - on here or another forum a similar chat took place and it was recommended that you get unfinished flooring installed then put poly down afterward..  With the pre-finished flooring liquids can get thru the seams and then it gets under the flooring which causes it to expand..

goodluck

B

Link Posted: 7/31/2009 4:44:07 PM EDT
[#3]
I have used a lot of laminate flooring from some cheap laminate all the way to some very expensive stuff with a quality backing.  Having said that, I prefer real wood.  Real wood also adds value to the house.

I would not install engineered wood though.  If you are going to install wood, IMO I recommend that you go with solid wood.  I have found solid wood flooring for $2.50-4.00 per sq ft.  All in all those price ranges looked very good and were well made.