Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
1/22/2020 12:12:56 PM
Posted: 9/15/2009 6:04:58 PM EST
[Last Edit: 9/15/2009 6:05:52 PM EST by blood_donor]
Hi,

I am a relative newbie to "real cameras". I am running an E-520 with the 14-54 v2 lens.

I took some photos on a camping trip, and when I got home, I was sorely disappointed. Quite a few were not focused where i thought they would be. I was shooting mostly in Aperture priority mode, typically in the 20-35mm part of the zoom range, sometimes say f/5 and sometimes f/9.

Typically what I would do is point at my subject (for example, my 4 year old daughter's face), half-press the shutter button. I would see the center focus lamp light up. Then I would move the camera to compose the photo, and press the button the rest of the way.

Sometimes this worked out fine, but sometimes, the camera would focus several feet in front or behind where I thought I would get.

I doubt it is my camera, so I am thinking my basic technique must be lacking.

For example, am I shooting with too much aperture? If I rotate the camera too much, the focal plane may swing out past my subject, right?

Do I need to turn off the left and right focus points, and only use the central one?

In some photos, I used a CP filter to get nicer skies (strong sunny days). Does this cause focus problems?

Example 1: Focus point was supposed to be my daughter's face, but it looks like it focused a bit behind her.

Example 2: Focus point was supposed to be the stairs near my daughter

Example 3: Focus point was supposed to be my daughter's face, but it looks like her front knee is in focus and her face is soft.
Link Posted: 9/15/2009 6:08:04 PM EST
you might consider using focus lock when you move the camera around.. it's easy to release and half press the shutter again without realizing it.

using focus lock will prevent this.