Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/3/2001 7:38:51 PM EDT
I have an FAL clone: Century L1A1 with U.S. parts kit and wood furniture.

I have an M16 clone: Bushmaster XM15-E2S.

I have an M14 clone:  Springfield Armory M1A.

My budget only allows me to buy clones, unfortunantly.  But I like them just the same.

Can anyone recommend a good HK91 clone?  I know that I don't want one of those Federal Arms milled aluminum abortions, but that's about it.

Thanks.
Link Posted: 3/3/2001 8:12:20 PM EDT
[#1]
Gus,

By way of HK 91 Clones (by your definition, the HK 91 is a clone of the full auto G3), there are several choices:

Fed. Arms Aluminum receiver guns.  $600
Hesse Steel receiver guns $600
FMP Steel receiver guns $1000 **
SW-3 Steel (Cast) metal guns $1200
SAR-8 Aluminum receiver guns $1200
SAR-8 Greek Steel receiver guns $1300  **

By way of desirablility, the FMP guns (FMP is Portugese, and a licensed contractor for HK) are the best post ban guns with a pistol grip.

The Greek SAR-8's have thumbholes (Hellenic Arms is a licensed HK contractor), but can get enough US parts to use a pistol grip.

The SAR-8 with the aluminum receiver is basically the same gun as the Fed. Arms gun, but with a nicer parts kit, and the Springfield lifetime warrantee behind it.  It is supposedly better fitted and finished.

The SW-3 uses a cast stainless receiver, and are supposedly nice guns (more trouble free than their SW-5's, especially the early ones).

Special Weapons (SW) sold a bunch of their receivers to Century, who uses them in their Cetme guns (basically, an early version of the HK 91--the Germans used the Spanish design almost in toto for their guns).  These are supposedly good guns, use the HK mags, and run $600ish.