Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/15/2002 6:41:41 PM EDT
I just got through changing the timing belt on my ranger and it sounds like it wants to eat itself when you rev the engine.  It idles perfectly, but when you give it the gas it sounds like it is pinging or contacting valves to piston...I think that is unlikely considering that it didn't quit running.  I need to here what you think.
Link Posted: 6/15/2002 6:57:35 PM EDT
[#1]
Oh come on now, somebody out there has got to be a Ford tech.
Link Posted: 6/15/2002 7:04:15 PM EDT
[#2]
i am not a mechanic, but did you check the timing, with a timing light.
Link Posted: 6/15/2002 7:04:44 PM EDT
[#3]
I'd suggest you check your work. Not familiar with the not mentioned engine, but the distributor/pickup for timing the spark is often run off the end of the cam. If you have your cam timing off a tooth or two advanced the engine might run ok at idle but detonate at open throttle positions
Link Posted: 6/15/2002 7:09:29 PM EDT
[#4]
What engine do you have? 2.0/2.3? If so, this is not an "interferance engine, meaning if you strip the belt the valves will contact the piston. However it is possible if the RPM is really high. If the valves contacted the piston it would not have any compression, and would not have restarted. I think you missed the timing marks on the jack shaft, and now your timing is too far advanced giving you spark knock. Check your belt setup again.
Link Posted: 6/15/2002 7:16:23 PM EDT
[#5]
I've got the 2.3, it's a '97 2WD with the A.C.  So, contrary to what I've heard it's not an interferance motor...that's refreshing to hear.  Sorry for the lack of details before.
Link Posted: 6/15/2002 7:21:48 PM EDT
[#6]
recheck the tension on the belt, if a timing belt is too tight it will make the noise you are describing.
Link Posted: 6/15/2002 8:45:43 PM EDT
[#7]