Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
PSA
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 7/6/2012 11:22:52 AM EDT
The only threads I could find were archived.

Who plays?  What discs do you use?  Have any tips for a new player?

My girlfriendfiancee (not used to calling her that yet) and I started play about a month or so ago and only have about 5 discs between the two of us.  We have three drivers (Nuke, Cyclone, and Stratus), a mid-range (Comet), and one putter (Magnet).  

I'm not that good at driving yet but each time I play I get a little better and better.  It is such a fun sport.  I wish I would have found this a few years ago.

Sidenote:  I found an awesome Android scorecard app that works for both golf and disc golf called Easy Scorecard.
Link Posted: 7/6/2012 11:26:05 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 7/6/2012 11:26:54 AM EDT by Lorax]
I play and use the cheaper Innova discs.

Been playing for about 6 years now as we have four courses within 12 minutes drive from here. Great courses too!

I'll take a small set of three or four discs and bang out two rounds while jogging it. It makes a good workout. Or, I'll go with my wife and make a nice day out of it with a soft cooler full of cold drinks and snacks.
Link Posted: 7/6/2012 11:32:25 AM EDT
Yours was one of the threads I found mentioning disc golf.  You mentioned your son's friend that you took in likes to play.

I went with Discraft because they made the cheap "starter" set I bought on Amazon and I liked their simple numbering system for the different stability ratings.  So far most of those numbers don't make a difference to me because they all end up flying the same way.
Link Posted: 7/6/2012 11:46:04 AM EDT
Half empty beer in the offhand for counterweight.

Other than that buy a few cheap discs and just go play, you'll find which ones you like.

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile
Link Posted: 7/6/2012 11:51:38 AM EDT
I play.  Get a few disks, see what you like....