Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/3/2005 9:59:05 PM EDT
I'm a police officer w/ the Indianapolis PD & would like to hear from all of you who worked during the blackouts.  Doesn't matter if your police, fire, or EMS.  What troubles did you have?  What did you do about food, water, what kind of shifts?  What did you dept. do about gas for cars, engines, ambulances?  Radio communication, etc.  Anything & everything you can tell me would be appreciated.  Things you wish your dept. had done differently or your glad they did do.  Any stories.  If you want to share, I'll be glad to hear it.  I feel it's a matter of time before it happens again and I want to know what to look for and  try to help my department to prepare for it.
Link Posted: 8/3/2005 11:28:20 PM EDT
[#1]
What blackouts?
Link Posted: 8/4/2005 5:41:26 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 8/4/2005 7:17:51 AM EDT
[#3]
well radio communication was mostly down, but some of the frequencies worked, due to repeaters on station houses with generators, the gas  pumps were operating on manual, shifts were 12 hours....since the radio communication wasn't a hundred percent, 911 jobs were called into the precinct directly, and cops would come into the precinct to get assignments instead of having them given out over the air.  One of the biggest problems we had was that there is an ice making plant in the precinct i was in at the time, and there was a mini riot there with people trying to get blocks of ice.  Other than that...not really a whole lot of looting and not much more gun shots in the air than on a normal hot summer night.
Link Posted: 8/4/2005 9:02:44 AM EDT
[#4]