Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/12/2014 1:01:18 AM EDT
Anyone own one? I am looking to purchase 2 when I return to the states. I want to get purebreeds but they seems to be be a little difficult to find and my google fu is weak today.
If you own one, where did you buy him/her? purebreed? Price (if you dont mind answering). Just trying to get a little better picture of what I am looking at. I have some experience with them, but I am far from being an expert.
Link Posted: 5/12/2014 1:45:07 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 5/12/2014 1:45:53 AM EDT
[#2]
I have one but I picked him up as a stray so I can't answer the rest of your questions. He's been a hell of a dog though, aside from the stubbornness.

Eta: I missed your last sentence. They are a very stubborn and aloof breed, and you have to know what you're doing and be willing to put in a lot of time training them. I think you would likely be getting in way over your head if you got 2 at the same time.
Link Posted: 5/12/2014 2:38:52 AM EDT
[#3]
Anatolians are very independent flock guardians. While they can be kept as companions, they really shine when kept out with a group of animals to mind. Absent that, they will be protective if the family and homestead. They are aloof, so don't expect them to fall at your feet.

A couple links for you:

A reputable breeder in the state you have as your home state
The national breed club
Anatolian Shepherd Rescue

The rescue even has a pair available together.
Link Posted: 5/12/2014 3:08:37 AM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
An Anatolian is one of the last dogs I would want as a companion dog. They are very independent-minded, as befits their real job, which is to live with the sheep out in the fields. Great dogs, just not what you are probably looking for IMO.
View Quote